Safer Places is a registered provider for the OCNLR Level 3 Qualifications in Domestic Abuse: Prevention and Early Intervention, formally known as the Independent Domestic Violence Advocates (IDVA) Course. This course is designed for adult professionals working with families affected by domestic abuse. 

This qualification gives practitioners the core skills required to support survivors such as understanding their individual and diverse needs, common responses to abuse and how to empower survivors to live a safer life, free from abuse. You will learn the importance of taking a coordinated community response to safety and the typologies and behaviours of perpetrators in order to break the cycle of abuse. 

How long is the course?

The IDVA course is made up of 5 modules, each module consists of 3 full training days. The overall time-frame to complete the qualification, including feedback and certification is 6 months. 

This course is worth 30 CPD Credits. 

What Will I learn?

Module 1 - Core Skills

This module will give you the core skills that you need to support a survivor of domestic and sexual abuse within a multi-agency setting, including the impact of working with trauma and personal safety for professionals.

Module 2  - Supporting families 

 You will cover housing options, including relevant legislation, civil and criminal justice remedies and specialist services for specific needs such as substance misuse, mental ill health, self harm and suicide.

Safeguarding runs as a golden thread throughout all domestic abuse work, but this module will specifically give you the confidence to apply safeguarding legislation for both adults at risk and children and young people in practice.

Model 3 Case Management

This module will give you the tools you need to practice good case management. You will cover risk assessment, safety planning, case notes, information sharing and MARAC and MAPPA processes. 

Module 4 - Understanding Domestic Abuse

Building on the foundation from previous modules, this module will help you to understand the in-depth dynamics of domestic abuse. You will learn about perpetrator typologies, different types of abuse, such as Forced Marriage (FM) and Forced Genital Mutilation (FGM) and Honour Based Abuse (HBA), the impact of abuse on diverse communities and best practice when responding to survivors. 

Module 5 - IDVA

This module draws on all of the previous modules and will give you the confidence to put your new found knowledge into practice. 

How do I book?

Please get in touch for future dates

 Contact Us